it’s all in your head

I did it! I did my first 5k training.

I found a great phone app called run keeper that not only tells me when to change my pace but also plays my music for me. Right now my training has me run for 1 minute and then walk for 90 seconds for 20 minutes. I felt so self conscious. I keep trying to run out of the sight of any possible eyes because I was worried people would judge me because I was running and walking. Silly human!

I was surprised at how fast 1 minute went. I literally thought it was going to be excruciatingly long and I would basically be crawling towards the end. But just when I get into the mindset of running, the minute was over and I was being told to walk again. Really?

I also found that it was so important for me to focus on the horizon and just keep running. The truth is I give up easily. When things get boring, when I get tired, when I just don’t want to do it any more. I don’t think I have the mental fortitude that I’m capable of. I could feel myself giving up and wanting to move on. I’ve always known this but I felt it and I was disappointed. I could keep pushing, I could keep going.

That’s what gets me excited about this training. I can’t wait to cross that finish line and grab that medal, knowing that I pushed forward, kept my focus, and followed through. Here’s to the finish line.

Leave a Reply

