and it begins

I have always loved writing.

The love has been around since before I can remember. I might as well have been writing in the womb. My insecurities begin to emerge as my psyche reminds me I am not the most technical writer. Even with an English degree, I fail to deliver in areas of grammar, transitions, and other fine tweaks of writing. Yet, it does not dull my passion. I love communicating throughout the written word.

My love of writing is not the focus of this post though, haha. My second year of graduate school is beginning in a matter of weeks. At the end of my first year in May I was feeling quite a bit of angst. I had loved my experience but there were definitely parts of my graduate experience that I would love to cut out of the picture. I was exhausted emotionally and mentally and I was simply of tired of feeling attacked from every area of my life. But the summer has provided some renewal. I had two internships. Both of them reminded me of why I loved this profession but in two very different ways. Emergency and disaster planning gave me a lot of great skills but it wasn’t my passion. My other internship in the Dean of Students office though was more in line with what I want to do in the future. I felt energized by the work I was doing.

I can always tell when I’m energized because my mind sparks ideas almost effortlessly. It’s a feeling I yearn for in a  job because I end up putting so much energy and passion into my work. It’s the only type of work I like to produce.

I think it’s very easy to get off of the path that you set for yourself. Sometimes those detours lead to wonderful new adventures, but other times that wandering feels like you are moving farther and farther away from who you are. I came into this program with a singular focus, get a degree in education that would prepare me to work for educational nonprofits. Specifically ones that are focused on college access.

I think there are many routes my future can take. I can only guarantee that I will take hold of any interesting opportunities that come my way and hope they all work together to propel me into the career of my dreams. It doesn’t help that I keep looking over job postings, a year before this is even necessary, looking for the perfect fit. BAD IDEA. This is the career equivalent of drinking a half a bottle of wine and drunk Facebook stalking your crush. It’s just a lot of stuff you can’t have.

Sometimes I get so wrapped up in the middle school cafeteria drama that can be grad school, that I  forget I am building my career and my future with every decision. There is an exciting world waiting for me after graduation and I am eager to greet it with open arms and a heart filled with passion.

Here’s to a great year.

Comments
One Response to “and it begins”
  1. Sinner says:

    The best piece of advice I received at the end of my undergrad from one of my mentors was, “Grad students, grad programs…have drama. It’s tempting. Keep your head down, keep your mouth shut when the drama starts. Do your work, it will speak much more loudly.”

    Best advice about grad school I’ve ever gotten.

Leave a Reply

